SharePoint Notes

Bleeding on the cutting edge …

Adding an extra server to an existing SharePoint farm

Posted by Christian Dam on January 10, 2008


Due to the scalability build in to the SharePoint architecture, adding an extra server is really easy! 

Here’s how that can be done:

  1. Install Windows Server 2003 R2
  2. Install IIS 6.0 
  3. Install .Net 2.0 and .Net 3.0
  4. Fully patch the server with the respective service packs and security updates
  5. In Internet Information Services Manager remeber to allow ASP.Net in the Web Service Extensions section. 
  6. Join the server to the domain where the rest of the farm belong to, if you haven’t already done so
  7. Add the MOSS installation account to the local administrators group.

Install MOSS and join the server to the existing farm

  1. Install using the MOSS installation account
  2. Start MOSS Setup, enter your license key and accept the license agreement
  3. Select Advanced and Complete install
  4. Run the SharePoint Product and Technologies Configuration Wizard
  5. Connect to an existing farm
  6. Enter the MOSS database server end click Retrieve Database Names. The Database Name and Username fields are automatically populated. Enter the password and click Next
  7. In Advanced Setting make sure that this server will not host the Central Administration site and click Next
  8.  That’s it. The new server is now member of the farm. Use Central Administration to configure it for the purpose it is intended (Web Front-end, indexing etc)
53 Responses to “Adding an extra server to an existing SharePoint farm”

  1. Moorthy said

    Hi,
    It’s very useful article. I have one query after installing the new front end server, how i can create site collection on it.

  2. Hiya,

    site collections are not created on web front ends per se. They are created in Web Applications that live on Web Front-ends. So when you create a site collection on a Web Application through Central Administration, it will automatically exist on all Web Front ends.

    Any existing Web Application in an existing farm will automatically be created on any new Web Front-end you add.

    Hope this helps!

    Cheers,
    Christian

    • Andrews said

      Hi Christian,

      ”I have installed MOSS 2007 farm on windows server 2008 and when new application is created it throws out an error “An unexpected error has occurred” and after editing Web configuration file it opens”

      Please help me find a solution for this.

      Cheers!!
      Andrew

  3. Thanks for the great post.

    I have multiple IIS site and site applications and have a few questions.

    I have changed the default root of the _layouts folder on all my sites. Will these settings be copyed over or will I have do this mainly?

    Do I need to install features that I have downloaded from codeplex like SharePoint Learning Kit or is that kept within in the SharePoint farm?

    Thanks
    Alex

  4. Hi Alex,

    thanks.

    Normally everything that live within the SharePoint databases should be copied to the new WFE. I would thus expect your changes will be copied over to the new server.

    Any changes that you have made to local files must be repeated on the new server.

    Cheers,
    Christian

  5. Mike said

    Great instructions. Concerning the central admin site, we are migrating the current MOSS server to new hardware so we wouldn’t we also want to create the central admin site on the new server?

  6. Yep, a MOSS farm cannot exist without a Central Admin site. If the server you are replacing is hosting Central Admin, you can use the SharePoint Products and Technologies Configuration Wizard to move the site to another server.

    Cheers,
    Christian

  7. Matt said

    This is very helpful, but what I’m faced with at the moment is changing the mail server in the farm, so I don’t want to install MOSS on it necessarily. I just want to change out the server in the farm topology. Any thoughts?

  8. Matt,

    not sure if I understand you correctly, but if you just want to change the outgoing email server, you can do that in Central Administration -> Operations -> Outgoing E-mail Settings. After the change, you can remove the old email server from the server list: Operations -> Servers in Farm

    Cheers,
    Christian

  9. Klemen30 said

    Hi,

    I’m moving our SharePoint Server 2007 32-bit to a 64-bit on Windows Server 2008, using this white paper
    http://www.digwin.com/view/how-to-move-a-sharepoint-server-2007-32bit-environment-to-a-64bit-
    I have successfully joined 64-bit Sharepoint server on Win serv. 2008 to existing farm.

    My current farm topology:
    Exchange 2003 – mail server
    SQL 2005 – database server
    MOSS2007 32bit on Win2003 server 32bit- web/app server
    MOSS2007 64bit on Win2008 server 64bit – web/app server

    Central admin site is hosted on both web/app servers. All web apllications were successfully created on new server. CA site (http://portal:5000), Mysite (http://portal:6000), Shared service administtration (http://portal:5001) are working fine, but I can’t open portal content site (http://portal:80), IE is showing HTTP error 404 The requested resource is not found.

    what’s wrong?

    tnx
    klemen

  10. Klemen,

    could be a number of things:
    – firewall setting
    – host names
    – AAM

    Note that your configuration is not supported as you are used mixied architectures in the same (web app) tier. It is however supported to run the WFEs on 64 bit and the index/application server on 32 bit.

    Cheers,
    Christian

  11. Klemen30 said

    Christian,

    Is my configuration really not supported according to this white paper?
    I’ve checked Identity accounts, firewall is not a problem, what can I check about host names?
    what is AAM?

    tnx
    klemen

  12. Klemen,

    I was mistaken. Your configuration is supported, although not recommended: http://technet.microsoft.com/da-dk/library/cc262485(en-us).aspx. I am 99% sure this must a recent change since we had to go PSS on a recent project to get support for adding a 32-bit index server in a 64-bit farm. Anyway, you should be supported but I’d get to a 64-bit only farm as quickly as possible.

    Again, I am sorry – I didn’t mean host names but host header. If your web app is listening on e.g. http://www.contoso.com you cannot access it on http://portal. This is set in the IIS settings.

    AAM is Alternate Access Mappings. Basically is allow you to access your web app via a different url. It is normally used when the web app is extened to a different zone. This is set in Central Administration

    Cheers,
    Christian

  13. klemen30 said

    Hi,

    I will check out my IIS settings (host headers)and AAM again, but if I won’t find a solution I’ll go on 64bit only farm (I mean this was my primary goal, unfortunately, I was using the wrong approach I guess?).
    Can you tell me what is the best approach to do it?
    At the moment I have 32-bit production environment with added 64bit web/app server which is not working. If I could make it work (portal web app), I could just remove 32bit web/app server of the farm and I am on the 64bit environment.
    What are other options? Remove 64bit web/app server of the farm and have two separate cloned environments (32bit and 64bit). How can I clone production environment on separate 64bit environment?
    Backup/clone databases and attaching them to a new farm?
    STS admin backup of the farm and restore of backup on the new farm? Is this possible?

    tnx
    klemen

  14. I am not sure what the roor cause of your problem is, but I am fairly confident it has nothing to do with sharePoint. Running to WFE’s in the same same farm on different versions of Windows AND throwing 32-bit and 64-bit in the mix as well is bound to cause you problems.

    I upgraded a farm from Windows Server 2003 to Windows Server 2008 once (I have a blog post about it somewhere) without any problems so it can be done – but maybe I was lucky 😉

    Should I upgrade from 32-bit Windows Server 2003 to 64-bit Windows Server 2008 I would probably do something like this:
    – perform full farm backup (remember all the things not included in the built-in backup if that is your tool of choice)
    – install a completely new farm using 64-bit Windows Server 2008
    – restore the content databases
    – create new web apps manually and reattach the restored content databases one a a time

    Cheers,
    Christian

  15. Gabriele said

    Hi and thank you for your post. What about updates, then? I mean, my existing MOSS frontend has been updated with wss sp1 and Moss sp1, plus some other MOSS hotfix. Do I have to install the same SP and hotfix level on the new frontend before joining it to the farm, or after, or when in the join process? Which is the correct procedure to follow? thank you in advance!
    -Gab

  16. Gabrielle,

    sorry for the slow reponse! You generally need to have your servers patched to the same level before joining the farm: http://sharepoint.microsoft.com/blogs/fromthefield/Lists/Posts/Post.aspx?ID=38

    Cheers,
    Christian

  17. Anubhav said

    Hi,

    Thanks for the useful post. However, I am stuck with something. Hope you will be able to help.

    I have a 64 bit application server running several web apps and a SQL 2008 database server. Now I want to create a backup application server which will be made active incase the orignal app server is down. I have installed MOSS 2007 on the back up server. In the “SharePoint Product and Technologies Configuration Wizard” I have attached it to the configuration database of the actual server. For the backup server, I have selected the option to host CA site. The configuration completes successfully. But when i try to open the CA site of the backup server, it gives an error: “An error has occurred on the server”. Also, when i try to open the replicated web apps from the backup server it gives error. I dont know what is it that I am missing here or doing wrongly?

    Thanks in advance.

  18. Anubmav,

    normally it not considered good practice to run your Central Administration on more than one server at a time, although it is possible to load balance it. Instead move it between servers as needed as described in this post: https://sharepointnotes.wordpress.com/2008/08/27/quick-tip-moving-the-central-administration-web-site/

    It seems like something has gone wrong when you added the backup server to the farm. Not knowing your tolopogy, it sounds like you are mixing the tiers by having your backup server running as both WFE and App server? It is poosible, but adds coplexity and can potential break functionality like search.

    I’d suggest to keep the layers seperated if possible.

    Cheers,
    Christian

  19. Anubhav said

    Christian,

    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I know it isnt a good practice to mix wfe and app servers, but we have a limitation of just 3 servers. Moreover, the farm will only be used for reporting purposes and we wont be implementing the search functionality.

    Coming back to the issue, CA site is not an issue, I can keep just one CA site for the time being, and move it when required. But, I need to get the web app working from the backup server, which currently gives a runtime error with no info, although the configuration gave no errors.

    Any clues why this could be happening?

    Thanks,
    Anubhav

  20. Anubhav,

    sorry I have no clue – it is not something I have seen before. I would probabdo the following:
    – verify the Windows and OS versions are the same as the other servers in the farm
    – verify the patch levels are the same, including .net 2.0 and 3.0
    – verify the MOSS binaries are the same as the rest of the farm
    – rerun the configuration wizard on the backup server
    – disconnect the backup server from the farm and join it to the farm again

    Cheers,
    Christian

  21. JRD said

    Christian,

    Hello and thanks for simplifying the instructions. Little reminders like using the MOSS install account and such would have saved me a lot of headaches when I had to rebuild my MOSS farm sometime ago. Anyway, I have a fairly simple 1 server MOSS configuration:
    -MOSS 2007 Enterprise on 32 bit
    -SQL 2005 64 bit
    -Exchange 2003
    Looking to upgrade new server as primary and old server as secondary and have followed your lead. So far so good but here are some of my questions:
    -After running Sharepoint Products and Technologies Configuration and successfully connecting to existing farm on the new server, under advance should I select to allow to host the Central Admin Web Application in order to take advantage of new server?
    -If so, will I have to run the Wizard again on the old server and or perform any other steps before and or after selecting to allow to host?
    -Is there a real advantage or noticeable difference to having Central Admin hosted by new server as oppose to old server that the end users will might see since the databases are really on my SQL 2005 server anyway? Or is it primarily for Administration advantages instead? My MOSS currently only has less then 25 users connecting to it as of now.
    -I know I can better load balance after a 2nd server is installed. Any suggestions on which way to best load balance?
    -I am looking to perform the final steps tomorrow night.

    Thanks in advance for any of your advice.

    JRD

  22. Anubhav said

    Christian,

    Thanks for the help. I got it working. Some patches were missing in Backup server OS and also it was missing the reporting services addin. Once I made both the servers identical, everything started running perfectly. Now I have both the servers working with each hosting the CA site, having a common config database. Thanks again for the help.

    Regards,
    Anubhav

  23. JRD,

    If you want to move Central Admin from the old server to the new server, then Yes, you’ll need to run the Wizard on both servers to move Central Admin. I prefer to do move Central Admin via a command prompt as I feel it gives me better control of the process: https://sharepointnotes.wordpress.com/2008/08/27/quick-tip-moving-the-central-administration-web-site/

    It doesn’t matter to your users where the Central Admin web site is running. Normally Central Admin is rarely used once the MOSS farm is configured and it should not be used by normal users anyway. In fact, I find it best practices to seperate Central Admin from the Web Front Ends if at all possible for security reasons.

    Load balancing is tricky since your two servers are not performing the same tasks and are equally fast (I assume your new server is faster). Load balacing between unequal servers will result in a varying user experience depending on which server they are served by. Since you have 25 users in your environment the new server should be fast enough to handle a far bigger load, so I’d let your users hit the new server.

    Also, be careful where you place the query role. If the query role runs on both the new server and the old server, the index will never be propagated to the new server.

    I hope this helps!

    Cheers,
    Christian

  24. JRD said

    Christian,

    You are awesome for even returning my post–thank you so much. Okay, so do you suggest just leaving the new server (which is faster by the way, a new Dell PowerEdge 2970) as the only server in the farm then and would there even be a real advantage to putting a 2nd server(an Older HP Proliant DL380 G1 or G2 series) with only 25 users? Perhaps I can put this 2nd server to better use on another project or something? I am expecting the amount of users to climb to 50 by end of 2009. What would be the user count per server that you would recommend given that it would be dedicated to only MOSS 2007? By the way, I am looking into installing MS Office Communicator 2007 on this server eventually. What are thoughts on this?

  25. JRD,

    it would be the simplest solution to simply add the new server to the farm and let ir be the Web Front End that your users are hitting. Keep the old server as a Central Admin server and Index server if you don’t need the server elsewhere. If you remove the old server from the farm, you face the potential challenging task of moving your SSP to the new server as well.

    Sorry, I have no experience with Office Cummunicator 2007.

    Cheers,
    Christian

  26. JRD said

    Christian,

    Fair enough and makes sense to me. I scheduled for next Friday after hours instead and will let you know how it went.

    Thanks again.

    JRD

  27. JRD said

    Christian,

    So I was able to successfully add the new server to the existing farm. Not sure if this is typical or not, but I did continue running into this error “An exception of type System.InvalidOperationException was thrown. Additional exception information: Cannot start service SPTrace on computer” and in event viewer: Event ID 3351 SQL database login failed…this hung at step 8 of 9 while running the Sharepoint Products and Technologies Wizard. Turns out the “Windows Sharepoint Services Timer” service had to have the “Log On As” with the same account as the installation account. It defaulted to Local Service for some reason and after changing it then succeeded.

    Also, it looks like the WSS SP1 and MOSS SP1 are already updated with the new binary files if already updated on the other servers…Anyway, so now I see the second server in the farm and it shows as “not configured”. I know you suggested that the old server should stay as the indexing server as well as hosting SSP and Central Admin, but what are next steps to make the new server as the primary Web Front End for users to hit? I will research this a bit more, but if you have an easy enough answer to this then anymore advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks again for all your help. Let me know if I can ever assist you with Citrix Presentation Server 4.0 Enterprise (Now Rebranded as XenApps Server 4.0) or anything else outside of MOSS.

    Regards,

    JRD

  28. steve said

    I want to add a server to a farm running SP2 and the 2 infrastructure updates (KB951695 & KB951695). When do i install these? Should i do it before i run the SharePoint Product and Technologies Configuration Wizard on the new server?

    Also, I presume when the SharePoint Product and Technologies Configuration Wizard gets to the bit where you go on to install the binaries on all other server, you just carry on on the new server?

    Cheers

    • Steve,

      if you are installing a MOSS server from scratch you can install all the patches before running the wizard.

      Normally the installation order is as follows:
      – MOSS RTM
      – WSS Language Pack(s)
      – MOSS Language Packs(s)
      – WSS SP1
      – MOSS SP1
      – WSS Language Pack(s) SP1
      – MOSS Language Packs(s) SP1
      – WSS Infrastructure Update
      – MOSS Infrastructure Update
      – (any Cummulutive Updates)
      – Run the Wizard

      Cheers,
      Christian

  29. Steve said

    I want to add a server we have for another MOSS installation that we use for Indexing. i assume an indexing server can be used for multiple MOSS instances? i tried the above but when I get to Step 7

    In Advanced Setting make sure that this server will not host the Central Administration site and click Next

    the Advanced button for me is greyed out and not selectable. How can I get this enabled?

    • Steve,

      sorry for the late reply. I am sure hoy have found the solution to your problem, but I wantedto offer my $.02 anyway 🙂

      You can have multiple SSP’s on one Index server but you cannot use multiple Index servers for the same SSP. Using the same Index server for multiple farm is not supported as far as I know – and even if it were, I bet it would cause a multitude of problems, especially regarding performance and patching.

      Cheers,
      Christian

  30. Eli said

    Hi Christian

    I would like to ask you for an advice as i am in situation of moving sharepoint to somewhere else. We have a standalone sharepoint server on a 32bit win2003R2 with SQL 2005 Standard Edition. Now i wanna break down the standalone server into one SQL and one as a frontend/application server, to get better performance as this old one is giving its last hopes.
    My (crazy) idea is to use the present server and install 64bit windows with SQL on it, and use another 32bit web frontend/application server hosting the sites. I do have some codeplex features, and i am not familiar with the way what do i need to do having them back once i do this cleanup. Any advice how to perform this without losing any webparts, solutions.?
    Regards,
    Eli

    • Eli,

      sorry for the late reply!

      Yes, what you describe is one way to go. 32 bit WFE/APP server is fully supported with a 64 bit SQL Server backend. Depending on the solutions will only deploy it’s functionality within the content database you you should not have any difficulties in building a new farm, install the solutions and applying the (old) content database.

      I am sure you have already performed the split – what road did you take?

      Cheers,
      Chrstian

  31. DaveLev said

    Great post…really appreciate it. You may want to update it for SP2 or point people to this: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc263467.aspx

    Although Microsoft does not enforce the update installation sequence, we recommend that you install the post-RTM updates for Office SharePoint Server that you require in the following sequence:

    1.Service Pack 2 for Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 (KB 953338)

    2.Service Pack 2 for Office SharePoint Server 2007 (KB 953334)

    3.The April CU for Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 (KB 968850)

    4.The April CU for Office SharePoint Server 2007 (KB 968851)

  32. Radha Varanasi said

    Hi,
    Thank you for the information regarding adding an additonal server to the existing farm.We have wss 3.0 and not moss is the process same.

    Regards
    Radha

  33. Samuel said

    I have 2 servers in my farm. One is MOSS 2007 and all it’s components, the other is SQL 2005. Everything is in production.

    I just added a 3rd server to my farm (I haven’t configured MOSS 2007 on it yet… I’m not sure how I should go about doing that), and I want to move SEARCH to this server. How do I do this, and with pointing this new server to my SQL DB, will that break anything from my server that is currently hosting MOSS 2007?

  34. Samuel,

    that shouldn’t be a problem. Simply install MOSS on the new server, run the wizard and join the server to the existing farm. Once the new server is joined to the farm, configure search via Services on Server and the Shared Services Administration.

    Cheers,
    Christian

  35. TP said

    Good morning,

    I have a production 32-bit MOSS environment (2 web front ends, 2 app servers (one hosting CA), and a clustered SQL server environment. We wanted to add two additional VM’s as web front ends in order to decrease the amount of memory being used by the current two. I was able to provision the new VM’s, using the add/remove of one of the current WFE’s to get the patches and updates that are installed. Provisioned the servers, got them added to the farm without any problem.

    However, now when I try to browse to the default port 80 content on these servers, I’m getting the “An error has occurred on the script in this page. Do you want to continue?” message twice, and if I click yes twice, I get “An unexpected error has occurred” in what looks like Sharepoint, but doesn’t have any of the frames, etc.

    If I modify the host file on the new server (to point host-header traffic back to 127.0.0.1), I get prompted for credentials. I put in the farm administrator’s credentials, but I get an access denied. I have verified that I added the farm admin account to the local machine, but still am getting these two errors.

    Have you ever seen behavior like this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    TP

    • TP,

      how did you provision the new WFE´s? It seems that you removed one server from the farm, cloned it and added the servers to the farm again. It that correct? If so, then I would expect you could be in a world of pain. I would’n definitely not recommend adding new servers that way.

      Regarding not being able to log in even as administrator. It sounds like you shouls add the host name to the BackConnectionHostNames registry key or disable the loopbackcheck as described here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/926642

      Cheers,
      Christian

      • TP said

        Christian,

        Thanks for getting back to me. No, I did not clone any of the existing WFE’s. We simply provisioned two new VM’s (clean builds), where I installed the MOSS software, ran the SP2 update, applied any patches that were needed (that’s what I was referring to by looking at one of the existing ones — to see what patches had been applied to it). Now that the new VM’s are in the farm, we’re experiencing the problems listed above. I did forget about disabling the loopbackcheck, which I’m going to take care of right now.

        Thanks,
        TP

      • TP,

        I am glad you didn’t clone the servers 🙂

        It could be that your web applications wasn’t provisioned correctly in case you have deployed any solutions. To verify that MOSS is working fine, you can create a new web application based on one of the standard templates, e.g. a simple team site. If that is working fine on all new servers, I’d turn my attention to the any custom solutions you have deployed or any manual changes that are made.

        Also, check the web.config files on the newly provisioned servers. Sometimes a new web app is provisioned using the standard asp.net web.config file, and if that is case some settings may be missing.

        Finally, check the timer job status. Have any of the provisioning jobs failed?

        Cheers,
        Christian

  36. Monica said

    Hi Christian,

    Thanks for Post, it was really helpful.

    However I have one problem, I have been trying to add a new index server with SharePoint Searver for Search to an existing and received errors.

    I ran both on WFE and Index server with IIS reset. When I tried to configure Office SharePoint Server Search from Central Admin, the same
    error and event log shown.

    Where did I missed so the authentication either using the wrong network systen name or NTLM?

    Can you please help where i am going wrong here?

  37. SH Pavel said

    We have Single Server MOSS 2007 SP2 farm with DBA managed database server. We have different web applications running and deployed several solutions (SharePoint Learning Kit, Facet Search, workflow extensions, new themes) in the farm.

    Recently we wanted to scale out our farm by adding one WFE and one indexing server. I have installed MOSS 2007 SP2 slipstream in the C drive (default location) of both the new servers. Then before running the SharePoint Product & Technology Configuration Wizard I uninstalled MOSS, restated the servers and reinstalled MOSS 2007 SP2 slipstream in D drive. I didn’t add farm administrators group to the local administrator group of the new servers but I added my own account which is a member of farm administrator group to local administrator group. I didn’t add Central Admin Webapp pool identity account (which is a service account) to the local administrator group either. But this service account as well as farm administrators group account has dbcreator & securityadmin privileges in the sql server, both the accounts are also dbowner of the config database. I have also noticed few updates and hotfixes of Microsoft .Net Framework 2.0 SP2, 3.0 SP2 & 3.5 SP1 are missing in the new servers but they are installed in existing SharePoint server.

    In this circumstance when I ran the Product & Technology Configuration Wizard I got configuration failed message in the step 2 with “Configuration Database: Access Denied” message in Event log. In Add/Remove programs of existing and both the new servers I have found MOSS 2007 SP2 64 bit with KB971620 installed with only one difference between existing and new servers: in existing server Office Server 2007 trial is displayed but in the new servers Office Server 2007 is found. I’m looking for your help.

    Regards, SH Pavel

  38. SH Pavel said

    Hi Christian,

    Thanks for your reply.
    Yep, at last we have got it right :D.

    We used alias for sql server/instance in our SharePoint implementation and when we tried to join new servers to the farm we inserted sql server/instance in the wizard instead of alias name and we didn’t configure alias against sql server/instance in the new servers.
    So, we had to configure alias against sql server/instance through SQL Server Client Utility tool in the new servers and insert sql server alias in the wizard.

    Moreover, we had to log into new server using service account which is the Central Admin Web Application Pool identity account in order to run the wizard.

    Thanks and Best Regards,
    Pavel

  39. Chinmayananda Mohanty said

    Hi,
    I am facing some issue while connecting to an server from the cofiguration wizard for SharePoint.
    What i have done..

  40. Chinmayananda Mohanty said

    Hi,
    I am facing some issue while connecting to an server from the cofiguration wizard for SharePoint.
    What i have done.
    I have taken the database from an existing server and restored on a new database server.
    And I am connecting to existing server on the wizard.
    For me the domains are different.
    While connecting to the new server it is finding the SharePoint_config db,but the user name it is taking the old server db owner’s name.
    Please help me on this.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Chinmaya

  41. pirata said

    Hi all

    A question regarding the farm setup.
    I have two web front ends that are NLB’d. I have a separate Search and separate Index server and then my SQL.
    Is it possible to add another Web server that is not part of the current two, and will run its own unique web application while using the same Search and Index servers?

    Thanks so much.

  42. Ash said

    Hi Christian,

    Great article by the way. I have quick question:

    Let’s say we have a SharePoint 2007 Farm, with say a couple of Web Front End servers. If we added another WFE server to the farm, would it automatically copy all the layout directory contents from the other servers? Si if we had featured installed using WSPs, etc. would trhey copy across?

    My guess is yes, but I do not have the luxury to test this out. If you could answer this question it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you in advance, Ash

  43. […] As your SharePoint deployment becomes more popular you will need to scale the farm to meet the demand. One of the easiest ways to scale a SharePoint farm is to add another Web Front End. The steps for this are as follows: (source) […]

  44. Shrik said

    Hi Christian,

    I have sharepoint application and sitecollection is configured on one server say “r84vm1” using SharePoint 2010 . Now I need to add another server to this exsiting sharepoint application by treating it as a farm.

    But when I try to perform the configuration using the configuration wizard as you have mentioned in the above steps. I am being asked to install various hot fixes on “r84vm1” as well as the new machine as a error message. Although we are following the links that are mentioned in the error screen and installed all the patches on the both of the servers the I am still getting the same error screen.

    If you can help me with detailed step by step approach for sharepoint 2010 already blogged somewhere that also will be useful.

    So can you help me out here. Its really urgent. If you need any more details from me I can provide those to you.

  45. Larry W. Virden said

    Hello, I am hoping you might be able to provide some advice to me. Our farm is currently set up for 2 machines. One is a shared sql server. The other hardware server has all of SP 2007 installed on it.
    However, what we are wanting to do is to see if we could manage to run this farm on virtual machines.
    To get to that point, our thought is to do the following.
    Create two VMs, onto which we install MOSS 2007.
    Configure the first to be a web front end.
    Configure the second to do the indexing and crawling.
    Configure these to share the same databases currently running on the hardware.
    Do testing to ensure that the 2 vms are able to handle the load that the one hardware server is providing.

    I presume that configuring the virtual vm web front end to share the same content as the existing machine is a matter of pointing to the database server and tables, right?

    Then, I know that the new machine intended to do indexing and crawling won’t share the indexes because they are local to the machine. But can the original SSP be left in place, and a new SSP be created on the new machine to handle the indexes? The idea is to create an environment which off loads the indexing and crawling, hopefully resulting in a system that performs web front end equal to, or bettering, the original setup. Right now, that indexing and crawling creates a spike in cpu usage and process queuing a couple of times a day.

    What other things do we need to take into consideration?

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
